Eastbound and Down

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

-Henry David Thoreau

Well here it is. Part 2. If the second half of this ride is anything like the first, I know I’ll be blessed with new experiences, friends, and a better understanding of life. I am excited to begin this next chapter of the journey, but far more excited to be sharing my thoughts and experiences with anyone who wants to read them. I never forget how lucky I am to be capable of getting up on my bicycle and pedaling. No matter where I end up, ultimately, I will be grateful for the opportunity I’ve been given, and the fact that I took it.

I observe the faces in the street and the birds in the sky, and grow eager to learn their stories. My hope is that I can effectively translate my interactions with them onto this blog for you. I was also lucky enough to travel west with my new found companion, Yaris. Our ability to motivate each other helped us mutually exceed our individual expectations. It also helped to have someone to talk to. I will unfortunately not have Yaris’ company on the return home. As a result, this blog will be my new outlet of communication. I will most likely say a lot of inconsiderate, stupid, and regrettable things. I will probably make a ton of spelling errors as well. I will probably bitch and moan about insignificant things. I will probably go off on a ton of hippie tangents about love, peace and harmony. I will most definitely pontificate a tirade or two regarding my political, spiritual, and economic opinions/frustrations. Most of them will be incorrect and naive. But I will be honest with myself and honest with you about what I’m feeling and experiencing.

I will miss Los Angeles. I was skeptical of the city’s motives and overwhelmed by it’s vastness, but soon learned all it has to offer, and believe me it has a lot to offer. I met some fascinating people from all walks of life. I spent over a month living with Gloria in Crenshaw. I regret having not spent more time getting to know her, but the times we did share together were valuable. We kept the house warm by lighting the burners on the stove. We bonded over a mutual admiration for D&D. She is a real woman and I applaud her strength and resilience.  Under any other circumstances we probably would have just passed each other on the street and gone about our days. Fortunately I was able to live with her and a new unexpected friendship sprouted as a result.

Things I will miss about Los Angeles:

  1. Percinamons
  2. Buying marijuana in a store
  3. Getting to see/meet so many amazing comedians.
  4. The ladies who sell roadside bacon wrapped hotdogs.
  5. Being in Los Angeles.
  6. All the friends I’ve made (two and four-legged).

Ok well I guess that’s it for now. For the first time in a very long time, I ride east.

One response to “Eastbound and Down

  1. Ok…so what the hell did I miss. Thought you left a week ago,lol. So now……can we start the offical clock? Good motivational song.

Leave a Reply

